Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Senior

Cats owned: MainCoonX, SnowShoeX, & Their Baby
08-05-2007, 03:52 AM   #1

Pregnant Cat Help

OK so as some of you know I have a pregnant cat. She is due in a couple of weeks and this is my first time doing this on my own. I have been present to help a friend when her cat was giving birth but never done it on my own (she made all the descions, I was just there, LOL) Its been a few years since then and I just want to make sure that I am prepared for the worst and hope and pray things go great. I work at a pet store and was going to get the kitten formula and bottle and such just in case of any emergency. Do you guys feel that its a nessesity (?SP?) to have before/during the birth?? What else should I need to have handy?? I plan to have towels and I have a heat lamp (not sure if its necessary but its there, LOL). I think that Im trying to be over prepared.....How do you guys or have you guys charted or kept track of each kitten and weight gain and such?? Any tips??

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Siamese and Moggies
08-05-2007, 11:19 AM   #2

Re: Pregnant Cat Help

Ok I was the same and spent a lot of money on a million and one items and needed none of them! Make sure she has somewhere safe and secluded to have the kittens, mine found pet carriers with the doors off the best places, and are still using them now. I think because they are somewhat enclosed the mummy cats prefer them to an open bed.