PDA

View Full Version : Queens calling - another question for Sam

Fran
10-05-2005, 10:20 AM
How does the calling cycle work eg how often do they call and do they call all year round? Maud is the only cat that I haven't had speyed so I have no experience of this really She has only called a few times since she was a kitten. When can I expect her to come back into call after having Claude?

Ohh and I was wondering, how with so many cats, do you cope with all your queens calling? It's noisy in our house with just Maud calling :roll:

bobbie3917
10-05-2005, 11:19 AM
i maybe able to help here a little. cats are like dogs and every 1 of them are diffrent. some as they get older can call every 2 to 3 weeks :shock: and others every few months. i have a friend that has a 5 year old ragdoll that only calls twice a year but since i have had Sky she has called twice already :shock: (she missed when she went to the stud so will be going back this weekend her breeder says that she has already had to many calls that if she dont have a litter soon it would be better to have her speyed)

Fran
10-05-2005, 01:37 PM
How does too many calls necessitate speying, Bobbie, how many is too many? Are cats prone to pyometra like dogs are if they are not speyed?

bobbie3917
10-05-2005, 02:13 PM
yes PK i think its cos they are prone to Pyometra or something simila. each time they are in call they are open to all infections.
and the longer you leave it before mating the calls will get closer to gethere until you have a cat in call nearly 24/7

shonedek
10-05-2005, 03:23 PM
In all the years of having cats i have never had pyometra.Other problems but not that.
.I have one here who cant be spayed because her heart cant cope with operation and shes in call once every 6 weeks.Each cat is different.I have another who comes in call every 16 days.If a cat was coming on call so oftern 24/7 i would personally go to vets as her hormones could be out of sink.