Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: DSH/Siamese/Orientals
10-05-2005, 10:20 AM   #1

Queens calling - another question for Sam

How does the calling cycle work eg how often do they call and do they call all year round? Maud is the only cat that I haven't had speyed so I have no experience of this really She has only called a few times since she was a kitten. When can I expect her to come back into call after having Claude?

Ohh and I was wondering, how with so many cats, do you cope with all your queens calling? It's noisy in our house with just Maud calling

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Ragdoll & Moggy
10-05-2005, 11:19 AM   #2

Re: Queens calling - another question for Sam

i maybe able to help here a little. cats are like dogs and every 1 of them are diffrent. some as they get older can call every 2 to 3 weeks and others every few months. i have a friend that has a 5 year old ragdoll that only calls twice a year but since i have had Sky she has called twice already (she missed when she went to the stud so will be going back this weekend her breeder says that she has already had to many calls that if she dont have a litter soon it would be better to have her speyed)

Catsey Veteran

10-05-2005, 01:37 PM   #3

How does too many calls necessitate speying, Bobbie, how many is too many? Are cats prone to pyometra like dogs are if they are not speyed?

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Ragdoll & Moggy
10-05-2005, 02:13 PM   #4