PDA

View Full Version : Are there any...

Donna
28-12-2005, 10:17 AM
foods that cats cannot eat?

I ask because Misty is a cathoover and eats anything in sight. She sits staring at me when I am in the kitchen with sad eyes waiting for little nibbles etc. She scavanges off of plates and tables..

Anyway, I have woken up to cat sick :shock: :( on the kitchen floor this morning. She had some cheese last night (she loves it so much) but is it bad for cats? She has been sick before after eating cheese, but that was when my daughter Emma fed her nearly the whole block of cheese!!:?

I now know thanks to Catpages that you cannot give them meat off the bone if it is cooked as the bones are brittle, but WHAT ELSE CAN THEY NOT EAT?

dinahsmum
28-12-2005, 10:24 AM
I'm not an expert but (other than thigs which aren't food - some plants etc) I think cats can eat anything. Suppose they are like us and some of them are intolerant of some foods. A lot of orientals are lactose intolerant (so have to have the special cat milk or no milk at all) so maybe that's the thing with cheese.

On a slightly different tack, there are things in the house which are dangerous - I can think of lilies (?esp the stamens?) and disinfectants. Apparently any disinfectant which turns water cloudy is very poisonous......

Hope your babe is better today

Donna
28-12-2005, 10:29 AM
I'm not an expert but (other than thigs which aren't food - some plants etc) I think cats can eat anything. Suppose they are like us and some of them are intolerant of some foods. A lot of orientals are lactose intolerant (so have to have the special cat milk or no milk at all) so maybe that's the thing with cheese.

On a slightly different tack, there are things in the house which are dangerous - I can think of lilies (?esp the stamens?) and disinfectants. Apparently any disinfectant which turns water cloudy is very poisonous......

Hope your babe is better today