Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Junior

Cats owned: selkirk rex, ragdoll
07-02-2010, 06:13 PM   #1

Pippa has matted fur

pippa is my long haired rex aged 16 months she is a lovely cat until you try to groom her! she has so many knots i cut out a few, nowi have bought a ferminator so much hair coming out! but she only stands it for 2 mins then runs off nightmare any advice? she has sevral big matts on her tummy

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Magnificent moggies
07-02-2010, 07:14 PM   #2

Re: Pippa has matted fur

Sorry lizziejayne - I've no experience of long haired cats.

Cats owned: Tortoiseshell
07-02-2010, 07:34 PM   #3

Long haired cats often have matted fur and the only way to stop this from happening is to brush her every day. If the bunches of fur become too tight, it's possible to get the vet to do something about it. They usually sedate the cat and remove all the matted fur.

If you brush her just a little every day, she will eventually get used to it. Perserverance is the answer, but it can take quite a while ... and you'll probably end up with quite a few scratches along the way.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: NA
07-02-2010, 08:12 PM   #4

I have known people to use a stitch unpicker on large matts, obviously you have to be very careful and work at it over a number of days.

Catsey Junior

07-02-2010, 08:22 PM   #5

ive been trying just now i cut 2 small ones out and tried combing her but then she started growling

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: 19 Persians, 2 Oriental SHs
07-02-2010, 10:19 PM   #6