Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Cats owned: Two "moggies".
08-09-2008, 12:54 PM   #1

Any Tips on Grooming My Fluffy Cat Who Hates It?

Hi there - I'm new to Catsey - have just posted one on the introductions and one in health (ear problem).

Another problem - below is a picture of one of my cats Meg - she isn't too fond of grooming (only when she feels like it and on her terms!). Recently she has got a large number of matted areas around her back end. If she is in a particularly good mood she will let me "get at her" with a sharp pair of nail scissors and remove them. Lately she has been a pain and won't let me near her. Any suggestions (I don't really want to have her sedated and shaved but will do so if needed). Any natural calming/sedating techniques available??

Thanks in advance, Karen

Global Moderator

Cats owned: NA
08-09-2008, 02:13 PM   #2

Re: Any Tips on Grooming My Fluffy Cat Who Hates It?

Hi again Karen, we have a few Persian cat owners here who will be able to give you some tips, I'm sure. Hopefully they will be along soon to answer your question.....

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Leia: blue torbie
08-09-2008, 04:19 PM   #3

What a lovely girl Meg is! Have you tried Rescue Remedy or a Feliway plug-in to help calm her?

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: 2 moggies
08-09-2008, 07:09 PM   #4

Sellotape all 4 legs together Sorry only joking, having a similar problem with my fluffy butt cat too.
I am resigned to getting at it little by little and taking a few scratches for my efforts.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Two Tabby Girls