Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Senior

Cats owned: not sure
12-05-2014, 03:54 AM   #1

New to the Cat World

Hello everyone.

I am brand new to the cat world.

I don't have pet cat's per say, but I've had 2 cats hanging around my home for about 6 months now. One seems like it's semi-feral and the other runs away as soon as it sees me. I have decided to set up an area for them to keep them safe from the cold/heat and from other wildlife that can potentially kill them (as I live in a rural area) plus fresh food and water. I would love to get them used to people, but I am highly allergic so can't have them in the house, plus I have a house full of dogs so don't think that would go very well. I have also been looking for feral cat organizations to help me get them spayed/neutered and vet checked.

I'm hoping to gain lots of useful information here from all of you that have experience with cats since I know next to nothing about them. I will be asking a lot of questions that may seem like common sense to you all, so please be patient with me.

I'm not sure if they are boys or girls. Hopefully I can catch them quickly to get them vet checked. I haven't been able to get pictures of the other one, just the little grey one. I named him Mijo (if he's a boy) or Mija (if a girl), pronounced "me-ho". It means "my boy/girl" in Spanish If the other one is a girl i'm going to name her Katica.

Sorry about the long post.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: 2 beautiful rescues.
12-05-2014, 08:55 AM   #2

Re: New to the Cat World