Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Junior

Cats owned: N/A
19-08-2012, 02:34 PM   #1

Letting cat out

I'm nervous, next week my kitten will have been with us for a month. He's getting his vaccinations and so soon it will be time for him to be out and about.

So, tips on their first times out? I'm new to cat owning so any advice will be much apprieciated.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: 2 lovely boys and a beautiful girl
19-08-2012, 03:43 PM   #2

Re: Letting cat out

Hi

Having just read your other thread about Shadow, I would first of all say he is waaaaay too young to go out yet Recommendations are that he's at least 4 months old, preferably 6 before you let them out.

When it does get to that time, it's best to take it slow. Take him into the garden with you, always make sure it's just before feeding time, that way he knows to come back in for dinner . The world is a big scary place to a wee kitten so take it nice and easy

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: 5 DSH. 2 DLH
20-08-2012, 02:00 AM   #3

It's generally recommended that kittens are kept indoors until six months old, then you take them to the vet to be spayed/neutered and microchipped before you consider letting them outdoors x

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Magnificent moggies
20-08-2012, 10:33 AM   #4