Or Register for FREE!




Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Reply

dandysmom's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: Leia: blue torbie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Posts: 31,378
02-07-2011, 11:00 PM   #1

Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


I'm trying to cope with my new Mac and Firefox 5. The Refresh button at the top left of the screen has vanished; I can't play the quiz without it!!

Also, now when I bookmark a page, and then click on Bookmarks, it shows but doesn't take me to that site as it used to do with the old Mac and Firefox, what am I doing wrong and can someone help???



Reply With Quote


lynz85's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: dsh called pip!
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: scotland
Posts: 1,708
03-07-2011, 12:54 AM   #2

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


I'm not too sure about firefox, I've never used it, but if you press F5 that will refresh your page for you.



Reply With Quote


Squirrel's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: British Short Hair
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fife, UK
Posts: 1,944
03-07-2011, 07:50 AM   #3

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


Not sure Eileen - forgot I was on chrome right now for a moment and went to check what version of Firefox I have running, to find out that's no good.

Will be at parents later on this week (Fri though...) so am happy to check and see what they've got then (they are using firefox, so...) if you still confused then.



Reply With Quote


angieh's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: Magnificent moggies
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 21,717
03-07-2011, 10:27 AM   #4

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


I find if I do a right mouse click there is a "reload" option which works the same, but I have a PC which I know is different, even though I use Firefox.



Reply With Quote


dandysmom's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: Leia: blue torbie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Posts: 31,378
03-07-2011, 03:55 PM   #5

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


Disregard the part about the bookmarks; I have that working OK now. But I really really need my Refresh button ... hope one of the few Mac users here can help! Thanks all anyway.



Reply With Quote


MrsH's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: 2 blue-eyed moggies
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,555
03-07-2011, 04:32 PM   #6

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


I have Firefox 5 (but I'm PC) I have a refresh button right of centre at the top, on the right-hand edge of the address box. I suppose it must be different on a Mac.



Reply With Quote


dandysmom's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: Leia: blue torbie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Posts: 31,378
03-07-2011, 04:57 PM   #7

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


That post about the F5 key was correct! It works, thanks so much, lynz!



Reply With Quote


lynz85's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: dsh called pip!
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: scotland
Posts: 1,708
03-07-2011, 05:40 PM   #8

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


Quote:
Originally Posted by dandysmom
That post about the F5 key was correct! It works, thanks so much, lynz!
no bother



Reply With Quote


Phoenix's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: 2 cats - one black and one tabby
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere or maybe nowhere
Posts: 4,295
03-07-2011, 08:09 PM   #9

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


You could click in the address bar (where it says www.catsey.com/whatever-thread-you-are-viewing) then press enter



Reply With Quote


dandysmom's Avatar
Catsey Veteran
 
Cats owned: Leia: blue torbie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Posts: 31,378
03-07-2011, 08:33 PM   #10

Re: Help! Refresh button and bookmarks


Thanks, but I've got a Refresh now with F5



Reply With Quote

Reply