Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Cats owned: Ginger moggie.
02-04-2011, 10:22 AM   #1

Hi. Newbie here with a noisy cat problem!

Hi all, apologies if this is a bit long!

I have a crazy cat!! Not just zany or cool or anything slightly endearing just plain bonkers!

Miss Brown is approx 10yrs old ginger and white female cat who I rescued about 7 years ago. She is neutured.

The problem with Miss Brown is that she is very vocal, very very vocal! She just doesn't shut up. She meows for food, frantically, so I feed her. Then she meows while eating. Then when she has finished, if she does finish, she meows a bit more. She meows to go out, to come in and for everything else in between. She also meows just for the hell of it!

It would be ok if it was a dainty noise but it is loud and changes depending on the demand at the time. I did think she needed more fuss but after 10 secs of fuss she attacks you. Not just a scratch but really attacks!

She is driving us all to distraction! My husband is keen to rehome her but I hate to think what would happen to her if we did, but after 7 years I am going mad!!

Can cats actually have mental health issues?

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Magnificent moggies
02-04-2011, 11:02 AM   #2

Re: Hi. Newbie here with a noisy cat problem!

I suspect cats can have mental health issues .... certainly they can suffer from a form of dementia, but Miss Brown sounds a bit young for that.

Could you ask your vet to recommend an animal behaviourist? It sounds as if she's got used to her demands being met!

02-04-2011, 11:40 AM   #3

Quote: