Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: British Short Hair
24-03-2011, 09:48 AM   #1

What is she saying when...

OK, I'm pretty well still a complete novice when it comes to cat body language and the like - though I guess it would be true to say that I have learned some stuff over the past months!

So. I'm guessing this is a place where I'll likely come and ask any questions I've got in relation to what my wee girl might be saying to me...

First off, times I'm stroking her and she's purring away and seeming quite happy, then she starts to lick my arm, and next thing I know the licking turns into a gentle bite... Is she simply saying "that was nice, but I've had enough now?" and is the licking likely an advanced warning of this? Being used to a dog I was taking the licking as more like being happy, but...

Also, is the time when she grasps my arm between her front paws, and uses it as a chew toy (again gently!), in a variation of the 'oh, I've caught a mouse' game the same thing as the other, or is that far more along the lines of "this is nice, but I'd rather play a game!"

Or am I likely completely misreading what she's saying to me?!

Thoughts, and opinions, and anything else are welcomed!

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: torbie/white & 2 siamese xs
24-03-2011, 04:24 PM   #2

Re: What is she saying when...

No expert but here's my take--