Or Register for FREE!

Welcome to our Cat Forums!
Welcome to our CatForums!
You are seeing this message because you are viewing our cat forums as a guest.

You can continue to browse our many cat related areas as a guest but you are more than welcome to register and join our friendly community of Cat Lovers! ... And for free!

Doing so will also remove this message and some of the ads, such as the one on the left.

Please click here to register.

Catsey Senior

Cats owned: not sure
14-05-2014, 08:01 PM   #1

Food

I was thinking of contacting pet stores to see if they would consider donating close to expired (unopened) bags of dry cat food or canned. I am not trying to give them 2nd best, but I am a student and am unemployed. I want to make sure I can keep up the resources to keep my cats fed. Is it safe to feed this?

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: Magnificent moggies
14-05-2014, 08:32 PM   #2

Re: Food

I would think that any cat food marketed as such would be safe to feed, and it's a good idea to ask pet stores in your area. Good luck with that. A branded pet food is sure to have all the necessary things that cats need, like taurine, which they cannot do without and is better for them in the long run than tinned salmon (a lovely treat though)!!!

Your cats that are living rough are sure not to be very picky (like a certain Kizzy who lives in the lap of luxury here is!!!)

Catsey Veteran

Cats owned: NA
14-05-2014, 09:32 PM   #3

good luck , i hope you manage to get some donations to help out. It is very kind of you to look after the cats

Catsey Senior

Cats owned: 4 moggies and 1 ragdoll
14-05-2014, 11:15 PM   #4

Would any of your local animal charities help out? Ask anyone and everyone who you think may be able to help you, even if they say no it's worth a try. I wish you the best of luck with the cats. You are doing a great thing.

Catsey Senior

15-05-2014, 12:19 AM   #5