PDA

View Full Version : Help - hand rearing kittens

fletch1973
28-09-2005, 05:27 PM
Advice needed please! We are currently trying to hand rear 4 x 4 day old kittens which have been abandoned. We are keeping them warm using a hot water bottle and feeding them on Cimicat every two hours but they are reluctant to suckle so I'm dripping formula into their mouths using a syringe. We have a small bottle with a teat but they won't suckle on it. Any ideas anyone?

Claire

Jac
28-09-2005, 05:38 PM
Sorry i wish I could help. I'm sure someone here will come up with good advise.

Mags
28-09-2005, 05:42 PM
I have no experience of hand rearing kittens I'm afraid Claire but I'm sure there will be someone on here to give you some advice. They sound little cuties....well done to you for taking such care with them..

bobbie3917
28-09-2005, 07:24 PM
have you tried tude feeding them??

Fran
28-09-2005, 07:36 PM
I was going to suggest tube feeding Nat, but it is daunting unless you know what to do and have the right equipment...If Claire has no experience of tube feeding she would need someone to show her how to do it. Sam would be the best person to offer advice but I don't think she has been around much lately :?

Mags
28-09-2005, 08:31 PM
Yes Sam would be the ideal person to help you as she has hand reared many of her kittens. I hope she sees this post...

smudgley
28-09-2005, 09:15 PM
Sorry I can't advise on hand rearing kittens. I've never done it, but I do know lots of people who have successfully done it. :-)

I have however handreared puppies. I guess the principle is the same except I would think puppies are easier than kittens to rear.

A big part of it depends how strong the little ones are. EG I work with puppies - with breeds where average birthweight is about 1LB. But I always say I'd rather have a strong 9oz pup than a weak 12oz pup. If they are strong & will suckle that's half your problem solved.