PDA

View Full Version : Get a kitten or a cat?

Kazz
04-04-2005, 06:10 PM
6 weeks ago good friends of mine had to have their cat PTS aged 15. Now they are considering another but I suggested an adult cat rather than a kitten - what do you think.
They are in their 40's have always had cats have one son who does not live at home. And they have two dogs a 12 year old PoodleX called Mandy and a 4 year old Rescue Greyhound called Tilly.

What would you suggest cat or kitten and one or two??

Karen

Moli
04-04-2005, 07:08 PM
When I lost sam, I got a kitten simply because, with 3 dogs and 2 cats already I felt it easier ti introduce a kitten rather than an adult cat...I always think an cat or dog would not hurt a baby..It has worked out fine..and oliver who is now 15 weeks is very much one of the gang...

Mags
04-04-2005, 07:18 PM
I have had no experience of cats and dogs together Kazz, but I would think it would be alot easier to introduce a kitten into the family as an adult may be too set in its ways.

smudgley
04-04-2005, 07:32 PM
It is easier to introduce a kitten to other animals & they are just so cute! But having now got involved in cat rescue & seeing all the beautiful cats that need homes, I'd now advise anyone to consider taking on a rescue cat. I foster them & can tell instantly if the cat would be happy with other cats & also if they are used to dogs. - Luckily I have very tolerant cats/dogs of my own who can find that out for me. :-D
I thought all the rescue cats that would be coming to me would be all thin / unloved / fleabags :roll: But infact they are usually someones much loved pet who for whatever reason now needs a new home.

So my vote is for a young adult rescue cat who has been used to dogs & hey if they live near me Kazz - I might just be able to find the perfect one for them. ;-)

Kazz
04-04-2005, 09:20 PM