PDA

View Full Version : Moving Cat Multiple Times

paperball4
27-09-2011, 05:47 AM
Hi everybody.

This may be a long post. Hopefully it will be coherent. I have a pet tabby, her name is etre, and she's about 3 years old. She is a rescue cat--someone left her and her siblings in the woods and a friend of mine found them. I knew from the moment I met her that we were meant to be and we bonded immediately. She feels like a child to me in a lot of ways, which may be part of my problem. As a college student, I moved quite a bit to different apartments and one semester I studied abroad. I feel horrible about this, but I had to move her back and forth between my parents house and the apartments I'd been living in and I know it didn't fair well on her. I think my semester abroad really took a toll on her (I know it did on me, us being apart that long), but everything was fine once I got back and she adjusted to her new surroundings.

Currently, I've moved to New York and she is living at my parents house again until we can relocate her here. I'm starting to fret about moving her again--so much so that it keeps me up at night. I'm worried she won't adjust well, or that I'll be moving again in another year, and that all this moving will be very unhealthy for her in the end. I'm also worried about how much time I've spent away from her. I fear that she thinks I'm abandoning her, and that she's deeply upset with me, or that she's reminded of being separated from her real mother and being left in the woods.