PDA

View Full Version : Advice regarding another Cat

Donna
06-03-2010, 02:55 PM
As you all know, I have Chloe (4) and Misty (4) unrelated neutered females.

You know they have never been the best of friends.. they dont hate each other or fight too much, but I have had to break up spats from time to time. I am not experienced enough with cats to know if they like each other or not.

Well, my friend has a neutered female grey/blue cat.. She is gorgeous... I have been asked if I could have her.. what do I do?

If I take her on, I will have seven pets... four rabbits and three cats... all animals currently have no health problems. Money is ok. Not great, but I am keeping on top of things. With Sean turning 18 I will lose child benefit and also child tax credits if he goes to Uni, but assume he will have Grants/Loans to pay for himself.... I will lose money eventually with tax credits (Emma 16 April) but do have the option of going full time at work when the tax credits are not an option.

So things to consider are:

Other cats in the house
Money

angieh
06-03-2010, 04:43 PM
Obviously it's wise to make sure that you could afford another cat Donna, but IMO it is probably more important for your own sanity to find out whether your two girls would accept a third! If not, then you don't have to consider the cost. Would your friend be willing for you to have the cat on a trial basis???

dandysmom
06-03-2010, 05:41 PM
My Misty and Patches didn't get along; no fighting, hissing, etc. but it was plain they were not fond of one another. When I got Dandy it changed the dynamic completely. He and Misty became close, and Patches seemed much happier. You never know how it will work out until you try. The trial basis might be the best option. Of course that was adding a male kitten; not sure how an adult female would work out, but all cats are different.

Kazz
06-03-2010, 05:45 PM
Interesting, do you know if the third cat is at least tolerant of other cats?