PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Hens

calismum
16-04-2009, 02:20 PM
For quite a while I have been considering having a few hens.

Really just a few to get some eggs from.

So - Advice on best breeds, age to buy etc would be welcomed.

Have done a bit of research and am now totally befuddled - point of lay for max eggs, but I don't want/need loads. How to keep them - total freedom, confined at night, in an enclosure or in one of these hen house things that get moved around the garden.

What advice, experience can you offer, and what is best number to keep 3/5 etc.

Thanks

alexgirl73
16-04-2009, 02:28 PM
Hi CM

I am a relative novice in the world of chook keeping lol, Smudgley would probably be able to answer your questions better but I will give it a go.

I have 8 chickens (started off with 3 but they are addictive lol). They live in a converted shed with a run on the side. They get out to freerange in the back section of the garden as well though. I used to let them have all of the garden, but since I would like things to grow in my veggie patch, they now have to be confined!! Three is always a good number to start off with, that way if one unfortunately dies, the others have company still, and it's very difficult to integrate one chicken with others.

The hen houses that move around the garden are great, until you get fed up with moving it LOL! And tbh a permanent one is easier. You can get all sorts of fancy breeds, but good old warrens (the brown ones) are your best layers I find. They are great fun to keep and I wouldn't want to be without mine now :)

Mags
16-04-2009, 02:28 PM
I'm sure Smudgley will be able to give you loads of advice CM, she's the 'chicken lady' amongst us. :D

calismum
16-04-2009, 02:39 PM
Thanks alexgirl73 and Mags.