PDA

View Full Version : Good anti virus protection

Kazz
26-01-2009, 07:38 PM
Based on Smudgleys computer's sad demise....due to the virus can anyone reccomend a good anti virus protection?

mattde
26-01-2009, 07:51 PM
Based on Smudgleys computer's sad demise....due to the virus can anyone reccomend a good anti virus protection?

I'm in the IT industry, I have been using Kaspersky for the last 6 years on residential and business machines. Very good virus detection rates, doesn't slow you machine down like Norton, you don't get constant pop ups about renewing and updating. You can buy a 2 year licence so you don't have to remember to renew every year. I must have installed the software on about 600 machines, god that's sad.
I have found that some anti virus software misses certain viruses that Kaspersky will detect.
Not many people have heard of Kaspersky , but trust me they are very good at what they do.
Get a 30 day trial and review it your self.

:)

yola
26-01-2009, 08:21 PM
Yes, we have Kaspersky at work and never had a problem. I would thoroughly recommend it.

angieh
26-01-2009, 09:09 PM
I have NOD32

dandysmom
26-01-2009, 09:33 PM
Actually, I don't have anything but the Mac Firewall that came with the computer. I suppose I should look into it, but so few viruses are written for Macs that I've never done anything....

Matt, does that work for Macs?

EmmaG
26-01-2009, 10:38 PM
I use Kaspersky on the laptop - it is very good, but use Norton on my desktop - but you need to make sure any Windows Anti Virus is disabled as they do not like each other.

mattde
27-01-2009, 12:31 PM
Actually, I don't have anything but the Mac Firewall that came with the computer. I suppose I should look into it, but so few viruses are written for Macs that I've never done anything....

Matt, does that work for Macs?

I dont touch Macs , if I had couple K spare I would buy a power mac g5 :roll: crazy price for a computer.