PDA

View Full Version : do you have to feed your cat cat food?

Elvisisboss
23-08-2008, 11:08 PM
trying to help my older cat who has allergies.

could you feed a cat say Iams or james well beloved biscuits (as this is what he has)

and say sardines, chicken breast and fish per day?

all fresh instead of like whiskas etc?

thanks

meep
25-08-2008, 11:50 AM
I'm not an expert on cat nutrition, and haven't researched lots of different food or the 'raw meat' diet that some owners put their cats on; I'm sure other members can give some expert advice on this.

But I would say that cats need a very well balanced diet with all their essential nutrients. Cats need taurine in their diet, which is only found in meat; without it they can run into seroius medical conditions, a common one being blindness.

I think if you wanted to stop feeding your cat catfood, and start giving it a mixture of fresh meat, biscuits and more alternative things you'd need to be very precise on monitoring exactly what nutrients and balance of protein vs carbs you were giving your cats, as it does need to be exact to keep your cat healthy and happy.

Cat foods conveniently come with the 'right' balance so we don't need to worry about it too much. Take the cat food away and it could absorb a lot of time making sure they are getting everything they need and would get naturally.

It is do-able; I have heard of people putting their cats on a 'raw meat' diet, as it's considered more natural. Some breeds of cat (such as Bengals) thrive on such diets. But I am also aware that a lot of cats have, from kittenhood, been brought up on cat food and so to suddenly change their diet, even if the food you're giving them in essence is better and more natural, could upset their systems.

Out of curiosity, what probed the question? :)

Elvisisboss
25-08-2008, 05:39 PM
hiya thanks for that, well my older cat has serve allergies to everything, literally anything you can think of he is allergic to it!