PDA

View Full Version : Indoor or outdoor cats?

Lorna
21-07-2008, 10:11 PM
Hi everyone,

I have obviously only just got the kittens so this won't be an issue for a while, but I am thinking about keeping them as indoor cats - I have already lost one cat to an RTA, I can't bear to lose another. Also I am studying Law at Uni and there might be a point where I have to move to the city, surely it will be better for them to be indoor cats from the start, then they will not miss anything if we don't have a garden at any point?

Will that make me a bad mum? xxx

kado
21-07-2008, 10:31 PM
No it wont. I would prefare all of mine to be indoors as i panick when there out. I understand if they never go out they wont know what it is like to go out. I have lost my darling kay in may this year too a RTA so you do worry more.

angieh
21-07-2008, 10:32 PM
I don't think it will make you a bad mum, Lorna. It is very much a matter of how you see the best for your kitties. If they have never been outside and have plenty of opportunity for play, exploring and exercise indoors then they will know no differently, especially if you think you may eventually have to move into the city. If the kittens, when older, are used to going outside then a change like that would be very hard for them I would think.

I haven't voted in your poll only because my Merlin is 22 years old this week. He can go out whenever he wants to, but does not have to go out - he has an indoor litter tray. On a kind sunny day, he may wander out to read his pmails and to nibble a bit of grass, but not often and certainly not if the weather is wet or cold. When he was younger though, he was out a lot, but not as much as my other cat Smudge who loved to be out, day or night. She was in her element outside and Merlin has always been more of a home body.