PDA

View Full Version : Here to help my Mum

Flower
24-06-2008, 09:02 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie here, non-cat owner... but hoping to get some advice from knowledgable cat owners.

Basically my Mum's cat has been to the vets twice in the last fortnight costing over £400 each time. He has basically had a blocked uretha due to struvite crystals.

Mum has been advised and sold a special diet to help dissolve these crystals. Which I think is very expensive and no doubt can find it cheaper online... any suggestions?
She has been sold Hills C/D tinned food.

She has also been advised to try to encourage her cat to drink more... one of the the tips suggested gravy ice cubes but Charlie doesn't seem interested.. any other ideas?

Feel really sad Mum paid for his first vet stay and I've paid for his second lot of treatment but can't really afford for a third visit if it happens too soon... I am worried as he is such a lovely cat... I don't know how else I can help.

You should have seen him... he walked around my Mum's kitchen kissing everyone twice on his return home after his first hospital stay... he was so pleased to be home.

Any advice, places to get the special diet cheaper, how to encourage more fluid intake would be greatly appreciated... thanks for reading my waffling.

Mags
24-06-2008, 09:11 PM
A good tip I was told by one of our members, Kazz, to get your cat to take more water, was to add a couple of spoonfuls of water to their wet food...... they will lap it up like gravy. I always do that with my cat's food now.

I'm sure someone with more knowledge about struvite crystals will be along shortly to answer that question..

Amber
24-06-2008, 09:20 PM
The prescription diets generally work wonders, but yes you may be able to find it cheaper online, I would just type it into google or similar and see what you come up with :)

Also to encourage him to drink more, she may want to invest in a drinking fountain, as cats tend to prefer drinking running water.

pinklizzy