PDA

View Full Version : i'm a murderer :-(

Tink
23-06-2008, 06:56 AM
it was an accident. one of the starling babies is dead. but it's all my fault.
i was doing their feeding before bed and one of them just didn't swallow the last bite of food..i started coaxing it to swallow and it's body went limp..i suddenly realized it was choking to death and frantically tried to clear the airway...nothing i did worked. i was screaming no and sobbing.
i've never killed an animal before. i keep thinking how it was alive sitting on its perch perfectly fine before my hands touched it. i am a horrible brutal killer.
i now doubt any of the good things i have done for animals. maybe i am not good at anything.
that sibling has to sleep alone tonight because of me.
i refuse to feed the other one. i don't want to kill another thing again. i told kevin he has to do it. i don't even want to look at the cage anymore.
i'm consumed with guilt. i am so stupid.

alexgirl73
23-06-2008, 08:29 AM
Tink, Tink, Tink!! You are not a murderer. You have done everything in your power to help these little ones, and what happened was just one of those unfortunate things, something that could have happened with mummy feeding them. Please don't beat yourself up about this, and go back to helping the other little one ((hugs))

Tink
23-06-2008, 08:55 AM
thank you. upon looking at the body, i noticed there was some kind of deformity in his chest. kevin said maybe he had a parasite or birth defect and it was bound to happen. but he wouldn't have died so quickly if i hadn't have fed him that last bite. they haven't been gaping to eat the last few days and i've been gently force feeding them so they don't starve to death. or so i thought...
i should have done more research. maybe the formula wasn't the right consistency. i keep running in my mind the things i could have done differently.