PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie with a manic bengal kitten - help!

rrushton
14-02-2008, 02:34 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent pet behaviour spray to stop my kitten climbing the curtains in our front room & to stop tearing the carpet up by our bedroom door? Daisy is adorable, but i don't want her to completely destroy our house! She has a scratching post which she uses, but is very interested in the curtains & trys to get in our bedroom (which is out of bounds due to my husbands allergies!) Any advice would be greatly appreciated - i would prefer to use a natural deterrant rather than lots of chemical sprays.

Thanks - Rebecca:?

Fran
14-02-2008, 02:36 PM
Warm welcome to Catsey! can I ask how old is Daisy? and is she an only cat??

rrushton
14-02-2008, 02:53 PM
Daisy is 11 weeks old. We have a tabby & white moggy who is 3yrs & 9 months. They get on really well with each other (apart from when Daisy wants to play & Charlie just wants to sleep!) Charlie was a relatively quiet kitten - i know bengals are quite boistrous, but we wanted a bengal & were prepared for noise, jumping all over the place etc. But i can't just sit back & watch Daisy climb the curtains or damage my carpets/furniture. We expect the occasional accident, but she needs to learn some rules. Not sure what discipline route to take if any as hissing at her has no effect whatsoever. So this is why i thought of a deterrant spray to keep her away from the areas i don't want her clawing etc.

Rebecca

yola
14-02-2008, 03:04 PM
Double sided tape is good if you don't want things scratched - once a cat's paws stick to tape they'll not want to touch the same place again. Not sure about scents/sprays as I've never used these, but if she's scratching it would suggest more physical things like putting the scratching post in front of where she scratches.

Fran
14-02-2008, 03:07 PM