PDA

View Full Version : Trinity is overweight

ellenlouise
12-02-2008, 10:20 AM
Hiya

We took Trinity for her booster vaccinations and Neo for his check up yesterday. Neo was fine. Trinity on the other hand unfortunatly is a bit chubby. She weighed 5.05kg and should weigh 4kg so she needs to go on a diet. The vet said to change her food to an indoor cat food or a light food not sure which would be better. Unfortunatly though we have just brought the hugest bag of Whiskas. So we will need to use it up first. We have reduced her amount by loads giving her the amount the vet said rather than filling her bowl up and no more wet food. Any advice would be brilliant.

Seraphina
19-03-2008, 09:17 PM
Hiya,

I'm by no means an expert but a year ago my cat was either 4.7 or 4.8kg & now is 4.1 1/2 & i've just given her 200g a day wet (2 pouches) one in the morning & one at night. The receptionists said that wasn't starving her & she never wants more.

When I went last week the vet said to be careful to not let her lose too quickly at her age (10), i'm not sure the rate cats should lose at. I'd say to make sure she isn't helping Neo to finish his dinner & to give the amount the vet said & play games where she has to move abit, maybe throwing stuff like rolled up paper/balls down the stairs or up so she has to run up & down?

Sorry I can't be much help but when you find out what works let me know, could do with losing some myself =)

Sam

Elaine
19-03-2008, 09:49 PM
Be very careful about dieting a cat, too much too soon can lead to hepatic lipidosis/fatty liver disease.
Dried food is much higher in calories than wet food.
I have a large kitty and tbh, I found better results with her weight loss by getting her to play more.
http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/obesity.html
http://www.thepetcenter.com/imtop/catweight.html
http://www.cat-world.com.au/ObesityInCats.htm

dandysmom
19-03-2008, 10:12 PM