PDA

View Full Version : Question for typists

dinahsmum
06-02-2008, 04:14 PM
I've never had to type in my working life, so never learnt keyboard skills. In fact I never really used a keyboard at all until about 5 years ago. I used to be a 2 finger typist, then I got a 'teach-yourself' CD and tried to improve but I got fed up with the bossy woman who constanly rebuked me for my left little finger not pressing hard enough to make 'a's. But I digress.
I'm quite a bit quicker than I usd to be and I use about 5 or 6 fingers. Recently, my speed has increased again but I have developed a recurrent error. Words with ere keep coming out as wheer, heer, theer, so I waste time going back to correct. So - any tips on how to rectify? I'm obviously doing e with my left hand and r with my right hand and not synchronising properly.

yola
06-02-2008, 04:38 PM
I'm a self-taught typist too, but only coz my Mum was learning years ago (on a proper typewriter), and I sneaked a go with her pitman books.

Essentially, the 'e' and the 'r' should both be typed with the left hand. E with middle finger and R with index finger.

Always keep your fingers on (left hand) a,s,d and f and j,k,l,and ; (right hand) as a base and then the fingers will naturally drop onto the right keys . . . well I say that, but it does take a bit of persistence!

Hope that helps - now go and practice!! :shock: ;) :shock:

dinahsmum
06-02-2008, 04:50 PM
Thanks Yola!
I may just try to slow down; I think life may be too short for me to try to type properly .......... in the meantime, excuse my heers :)

Carole
06-02-2008, 04:58 PM
Always keep your fingers on (left hand) a,s,d and f and j,k,l,and ; (right hand) as a base and then the fingers will naturally drop onto the right keys . . . well I say that, but it does take a bit of persistence!

That is how I was taught at school :) I remember all the boring exercises like rows and rows of aqa aza etc til you had covered the whole keyboard.

dandysmom
06-02-2008, 05:18 PM