PDA

View Full Version : little bully

glyn
31-01-2008, 02:27 PM
I have 2 british blues, Molly and Ralph both from the same family but 2 years appart. female 3 years and male 1, both neutered.
Molly lead a very contented life as a house cat, allowed in the back garden in the evenings but my wife and i decided to get her some company as we both work during the day.

Allong came Ralph.

He is a very affectionate cat and 90% of the time everythings great. The problem is if he see's Molly getting attention from me or my wife he will sneak up on her when nobodys watching and attack her. he also attacks her at night or when were out.
This is really starting to effect Mollys well being she has become distant and nervous.
we dont want to get rid of Ralph as we love them both but cant let it continue, what can we do?

angieh
31-01-2008, 02:32 PM
Sorry to hear about Ralph, Glyn. He does sound like a typical bully boy. I have little experience of this behaviour, but I am sure other members who have will be along shortly.

dinahsmum
31-01-2008, 02:45 PM
What a bad guy! Poor Molly.
Maybe it his age - he is a grumpy selfish teenager etc?
Someone will have had a similar experience and be able to offer concrete suggestions, I'm sure.
Nice to have you on Catsey!

dandysmom
31-01-2008, 05:45 PM
I've had no experience of this either; can only think of the two standard recommendations of a Feliway plug to emit soothing pheromones and some Bachs remedy in the water... poor Molly, this must be so distressing for her......

Elaine
31-01-2008, 05:53 PM
Poor Molly, I am sure my Bernie will sympathise with her greatly. I have Eva the Diva, who is quite a character and a bully towards Bernie. Fortunately Bernie is a very laud back dude. Our affections became somewhat divided as Bernie will seek cuddles from my o/h while the Diva OWNS me:shock: :lol: . It can be quite upsetting sometimes though when she just wont let him settle.