PDA

View Full Version : Introducing New Cat? Help Please

BobbyBoo
17-11-2007, 10:22 PM
Hello everybody, I am new to catsey so please bear with me :)

I own a lovely four year old female DLH called Bobby (I thought she was a boy when I got her). She has never lived with any other cats before.

I have just taken on a rescue cat and plan to bring him home next weekend.

I am after any tips on how to help Bobby accept her new housemate. Obviously I do not want her to be upset, although I suspect she may be a bit put out for a few days to start?

My dad once said to me "cat's love places, not people" and so I am worried that she will run away?

Please Help xxx

Amber
17-11-2007, 10:57 PM
Welcome to catsey :D can't wait to see some pictures of your Bobby and your new boy when he arrives! Does he have a name yet?

Firsty - good on you for rescuing :D

The best advice I can give really is to take things slowly. For the first couple of days or so I would keep them both seperate, but introduce their scents to one another. You will automatically take on the scent of each cat if you are fussing them both, but it may be an idea to place blankets or items of clothing smelling of each cat in the others environment. Maybe you could invest in a large crate, and place your new cat in it, allowing Bobby to wander around and get used to your new cats company without them having access to each other as such - I wouldn't do this for long periods of time though.

I would just say go at the pace your cats want to go, and don't try to rush things ;)

dandysmom
17-11-2007, 11:18 PM
Amber has pretty well summed it up nicely! Bobby's nose will no doubt be out of joint for a while, but hopefully she'll soon adjust, especially if you give her some extra TLC.There might be hissing, spitting and growling for a bit. to be expected. I'm assuming both cats are neutered?