PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Viscious attack cat

sillylilykitty
13-08-2007, 01:18 PM
Lily is my cat, she is a Siamese cat. Shes taken a turn for the worse she hates being touched, so much that if shes not happy about it she will bite you. Sometimes she will bite lightly sometimes she comes close to creating an abscess. Im afraid shes turning into her mom. Her mom was put to sleep because she could not be trusted not to bite if you touched her. The breeder I worked for was not going to adopt out a cat that was scared all the time and attacked hands.

I dont want to give up on Lily like that. But I cant take this much longer!! WHAT DO I DO?!?! Its in her blood, her mom was a fear biter her dad is even more aggressive....Im fighting against the odds, but how do you stop a cat from biting?

Fran
13-08-2007, 01:24 PM
I have no experience of this and do not know what to advise. Have you consulted your vet? Is there a possibility there may be a medical reason why she is turning this way? I do hope someone will have some answers for you and please let us know how you get on.....

Moli
13-08-2007, 01:57 PM
As PK says I would get her checked over by the vet, there could be a simple reason for it...

dinahsmum
13-08-2007, 02:08 PM
This must be vet territory.
I hope it can be resolved.

charliebubs
13-08-2007, 02:33 PM
I hope you can sort it all out for Lily and for you. Please do keep us posted.

I'm not sure that I agree that "it's in her blood" - I think that if she never did it before and has just started it recently, then it's either a medical or a behavioural problem.

If the vet can rule out any medical problems perhaps you could get a cat behaviourist to come and assess her. They may be able to help.

Best of luck :)

Donna
13-08-2007, 03:31 PM
I too dont believe an animal to be born with a tendancy to be nasty. There has to be a reason for it... either mental or physical.