PDA

View Full Version : Introducing an entire male into a new house

RRR
22-02-2007, 11:03 AM
Whats the best way to introduce and settle an entire male into a new home?

Much to my disappointment my sister is getting a cat! The cat is a two year old entire male who gets on with children and dogs but not other cats.

My sister has two young children and two guinea pigs but no other pets.

How long should he be kept inside for? Is he likely to spray?

I've never had to introduce an older cat into the house before so just wanted any tips that can make things go smoother for my sister as she's a complete newbie to it all.

Mr Cat will be getting neutered! :D

Fran
22-02-2007, 11:06 AM
He is very likely to spray and he should be kept inside until he is neutered. I'd be inclined to keep him in one room until he has been there a day or two and has settled in a bit but your sister may find that she has to confine him to an easily washable room anyhow as it is likely he will spray. He needs neutering asap. What's his story?

dinahsmum
22-02-2007, 11:08 AM
Why is she not getting him neutered?
I would think if he is done there will be no trouble introducing him at all. He'll need a bit of 'space' when he just arrives - he won't want to be mobbed by the children.
If she doesn't neuter he is likely to spray and to stray and to fight and get ill .....

RRR
22-02-2007, 03:36 PM
Dinahsmum - my post does say he'll be getting neutered!!

When my sister told me he wasn't neutered yet she did say that she'll give him a while to settle in and then get him done. I told her he is likely to spray so best to get him done sooner rather than later.

He's come from freecycle of all places!! A young girl didn't want him any more due to moving so out he goes!