PDA

View Full Version : help with mom rejecting her kittens

yvonne
05-09-2006, 09:36 AM
One of our cats gave birth in a neighbouring shed, we tried and tried to find where she had had them with no luck until last night when the neighbour traced them back to us.
they are now almost 4 weeks old and we brought them home and made them nice and warm etc. the problem is that now mom wont go anywhere near them, in fact she hisses and spits at them.
In all there are 6 kittens and 5 of them are eating a little mashed solid food, but one of them seems pretty weak.
I am off to get some provisions soon(milk, bottles) but am really at my wits end as to what to do for the best.
Any advice?

dinahsmum
05-09-2006, 09:44 AM
I'm not an expert and I hope someone will be along to help soon.
Just a couple of thoughts

Do you think Mum could have mastitis or even a womb infection, to make her feel bad? Perhaps a quick trip to the vet?

Kittens start eating about 4 weeks anyway, I think, so I hope the little ones will be OK

Good luck

Edit Sorry Yvonne - I forgot to say welcome to Catsey - hope you stay around and chat - maybe post some pics of mum & kits?

Naomi
05-09-2006, 10:03 AM
There are a few reasons why a mother cat will reject her baby/babies. She may 'sense' that they are not right eg don't smell right after being handled or sick. She may even be sick herself.

A check up at the vets would definately be a good place to start tho

yvonne
05-09-2006, 10:13 AM
Thank you for your ideas,Mom does seem down so I think a trip to the vets might be in order.
Need to go there for some basic supplies anyway, once again thank you for caring.
Cats! wouldn't be without them but sometimes I just wish I could speak feline!

Naomi
05-09-2006, 10:21 AM
Don't we all Yvonne :D

sweetmimi
05-09-2006, 12:37 PM