PDA

View Full Version : Need ideas for front bed

candyshandy
08-06-2006, 12:02 PM
As you all know I'm a complete novice when it comes to gardening :oops: so really need your help!!

The front bed currently has in it 2 dwarf conifers and 3 shrubs (no idea what they are!). The front of the bed is bare as is the back. Also, one of the shrubs has gone mad and what I thought would be a fairly small plant has turned into this huge thing! Proportionately the bed is out of kilter (sp?). Do I buy small plants (need some colour!) to fill in the front and back or do I go for the shrub size. Oh and just to make it even more complicated it is clay soil.

I'm currently thinking daisy plants and phlox..........

Will try and get a piccie later when I get home.

Sorry for the garbled message!!:oops:

Thanks

yola
08-06-2006, 12:45 PM
If you could post a picture that would help. Also, in which direction is the garden facing; i.e., does it get a lots/some/no sun?

What kind of plants do you like? Shrubs or architectural plants or splashes of seasonal colour (or a mixture).

candyshandy
08-06-2006, 12:58 PM
It gets sun for most of the day. For the front bed I think I'd like something evergreen but will give colour in the summer.

Will get a piccie later - I warn you though its really ugly:oops:

Hreow
08-06-2006, 01:48 PM
Put some evergreen things at the back of the bed where they can be tall and structural. Think you can grow almost any bedding-plants at the front, if they're annual.
You could probably grow clematis or something else that climbs and flowers up the evergreens for the colour.

candyshandy
08-06-2006, 06:51 PM
OK here is the offending bed :roll:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v521/candiceh/bed3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v521/candiceh/bed2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v521/candiceh/bed1.jpg

yola
08-06-2006, 10:43 PM