PDA

View Full Version : Help - manic kitten won't stop biting!

Lessers
05-06-2006, 09:04 PM
Hello - I'm new to this and in desperate need of help. We have a beautiful wee tabby kitten called Herbie who is 10 weeks old today. We've had him for 3 weeks. He has always been very active and playful but things have gone a bit haywire over the past few days. He is biting a lot, an awful lot, and lunging at us, and it is starting to cause a major problem for my 8 year old daughter who is becoming frightened of him, and my husband. My husband is not a cat lover, but he has fallen in love with Herbie. His patience however is wearing thin & I'm worried that he will start to think we've made a mistake. My little girl has wanted a kitten for a very long time. She loves him desperately, but the more he lunges at her and bites and scratches her the more worried I am that she will become too scared to be around him.

We also have a problem keeping him off the kitchen work surface, which I appreciate is a standard kitten thing, but today he has started to leap up onto the hob. I am terrified that he will jump up when the gas is actually on!

When he isn't biting he truly is adorable, funny and very affectionate. I know he isn't being deliberately naughty, and I know that kittens running around like mad possessed little gremlins is perfectly normal - but I need to nip this biting & lunging & jumping onto the hob in the bud before it becomes a MAJOR problem. We try saying NO BITE and walking away or diverting his atention to a toy or blowing on his face - but no luck. Can anyone help??
Thank you!
LPR xxhttp://www.catworld.co.uk/cat_chat/icon_smile.gif

Elaine
05-06-2006, 09:48 PM