PDA

View Full Version : FIV positive cat

smudgley
07-12-2005, 08:45 PM
For those of you who remember my recent post about the black cat Salem - well there is now some sad news about him.:cry:

I'll recap his history. He is a lovely big black cat who was handed over by my sister-in-law to be rehomed (personal & genuine reasons) He came to us with his buddy. We were thinking of keeping him as he is a lovely friendly fella - well today he went to the vets to be blood tested & castrated & he is FIV positive. His buddy is negative. We decided not to euthanase him, but to let him go to an indoor home as an only cat. I have previously researched FIV a bit but need to find out more about it.

Anyone else got any experience of it?

Kazz
07-12-2005, 08:48 PM
No sorry no experience here.

Sure he'll find a great home:-D

Fran
07-12-2005, 08:52 PM
Sorry to hear this Smudgley especially as you would have liked to have kept him. I have no experience of FIV. I hope that it is something he can live with without it affecting him and that he finds a forever loving home.....

smudgley
07-12-2005, 09:01 PM
From what I understand - they can lead a normal & healthy/happy life, however their immunity is poor & they are mainly at risk if they catch an infection as the immune system can not cope to fight it.

That's my understanding, also that it is mainly passed through biting / fighting & through sexual contact. It only affects cats & no other species can be affected by it.

Wish I knew more - I need to read up

bobbie3917
07-12-2005, 09:06 PM
sorry to hear that he has FIV

this is 1 reason i like 2 keep mine in

Fran
07-12-2005, 09:08 PM
I think FIV is part of the vaccination programme isn't it?

dinahsmum
07-12-2005, 09:21 PM
That is sad news :(
But I'm pleased you are hoping to find a new forever home for him.

Emm
07-12-2005, 09:47 PM
smudgley can you email me?

Mags
07-12-2005, 09:47 PM
I have no experience of FIV either.....